Chakras And You


Chakras are well know among the new age community, but the nature of chakras is often not that well understood. The text presented here is an attempt to shed more light on this issue.

The chakras in the human body are related to specific energies and consciousness, to endocrine glands, colors and psychic features. It is not always obvious to look for a linear connection between these systems, because the whole is more than the sum of the parts. If we tear out one part in order to analyze it, we might forget what its function is in relation to the whole. We can dissect a human body based upon the different biological systems or upon the different organs or upon the different cells but this would not explain a living being. Be aware that every explanation of the chakras is an approximation of what they really are. The following can help you to better understand what they are and how they function.

What is Above, is Below

In the cosmos, everything is present in everything. Macro cosmos and micro cosmos have the same nature. The laws of the micro cosmos are also present in the macro cosmos. At the source of all manifestations is unity, a cosmic consciousness not understandable for humans. This unity creates all manifestations from the subtle to the most dense matter. The most crystallized state of existence is the physical world we are living in. The crystallization process of consciousness went through seven stages hence the existence of seven worlds, seven bodies and seven levels of consciousness. Each of these spheres of existence has a power center, a concentrated field of energy that acts as a transformer to a higher or lower world. Each center is also directly connected with the ultimate source. This pattern is found in all fields of existence.

Therefore the seven major chakras reflect on different levels of existence, consciousness, worlds, colors, endocrine glands in the body and so on. They are like gates to the entire cosmos.

The Seven Major Chakras

The seven major chakras are situated in the sushumna channel, which is the main nadi in the very center of the spine. Nadis are ethereal or subtle energy, channels for vital energy in the body. The names of the seven major chakras are:

* Muladhara :       The Root Chakra
* Swathisthana : The Sacral Chakra
* Manipura :         The Navel Chakra
* Anahata :            The Heart Chakra
* Vishuddha :       The Throat Chakra
* Ajna :                    The Brow Chakra
* Sahasrara :         The Crown Chakra

Every major chakra has a link to the seven endocrine glands of the physical body. Endocrine glands are glands that secrete their hormones directly into the blood stream. Each chakra is also ruled by a specific planet and specific deities. The planets seen in Astrology charts are planets in the chakras. The table below gives the relation.

ChakraEndocrine glandColourPlanetDiety
Muladhara (Root)The Adrenal Medulla (above the Kidneys)RedMars, KetuGanesh,Hanuman, Kartikeya, Brahma
Swathisthana (Sacral)
The Sexual Organs (testes And Ovaries)OrangeMoonKrishna, Mahamrityunjaya
Shiva, Kamadeva
Manipura (Solar Plexus)
The Pancreas
YellowSunAgni, Laxmi
Anahata (Heart)The ThymusGreenMercuryNarayana, Pashupatinath
Vishuddha (Throat)The Thyroid Gland
BlueJupiter11 Rudras
Ajna (Third eye)The HypothalamusIndigoSaturnKatyayani Durga
Sahasrara (Crown)The Pituitary GlandVioletVenus, RahuShiva, Shakti

All the endocrine glands with their hormones work together to keep the body in perfect health. Hormones have many effects on many organs, tissues and bodily functions. Endocrine glands bring to life many spiritual qualities like will power, persistence, exertion but they can also cause apathy, indifference or laziness when hormone production is interrupted. Endocrine glands are also transformers of cosmic powers into the vital energy necessary for the physical body.

Tantric Story of Chakra

In the beginning Shiva and Shakti (the male and female principles of Cosmic Energy or Consciousness) were united in the cosmic Sahasrara lotus. When Shakti (as a woman she represents power) left Shiva, six lotus flowers (the chakras) sprang up from her foot prints. Leaving Shiva in this way, she created the entire universe from its most subtle realm to the most crystallized one. Each chakra left behind in the process of creation corresponds with one of these realms. This process of creation is also present within man, from the Sahasrara chakra on the crown of the head down to the spine to Muladhara or the root chakra where Shakti now resides. At one point in time Shakti will rise up again and join her partner Shiva. Then she will take her entire creation with her and live in unity again.

More About Chakras and Chakra Therapy:

Need any help or guidance? Don’t suffer in silence. Let’s chat and discover how I can help you.

Benefits of chakra healing with rudrakshas and gemstones available to everyone in Singapore, Malaysia and Worldwide.